Books I’ve Read in 2015: The Mingling of Souls

I’ll admit, I’m a sucker for a good marriage book. When Matt Chandler wrote The Mingling of Souls: God’s Design for Love, Marriage, Sex, and Redemption I knew I had to read it. He’s so good at showing the connectedness of the Gospel to daily things and how it runs throughout scripture.

Awhile back the kindle version was on sale for $5 and I immediately picked it up (it’s on sale now for $5.99).

Chandler goes through Song of Solomon and uses it as a path through dating, courtship, and marriage. I’ve heard some sermons on Song of Solomon, none of which did it the same way Chandler did, but I think Chandler’s way makes more sense. It’s a full path of what a Gospel-centered/God-centered relationship should look like.

What’s important in a God honoring relationship? What attributes are important? How should you respond to each other? Of course he talks sex, too. But he doesn’t spend the entire book on it. He talks how to fight well, which in my opinion, is really important. You’re going to spend a ton of time fighting through your relationship, learn to do it in a God honoring way.

The book is an easy read, very relational, and has the typical Matt Chandler stories and writing style.

If you’re ever even considering getting married, I recommend this book to you.

Leave a Reply

