What I hope to learn from church

I’ve written a couple of times on what I’ve learned from churches of which I’ve been a member. We’re moving in December which means a new church home for us.

And here’s want I want to learn from this next one. I want to learn outer community. I want to learn to take the community I’ve grown to love here in Tyler and spread it outward toward those in my community. I want to learn to better show the love of Christ to those around me. I want to have to learn to step out of my very introverted shell and move past just being polite and cordial to people I meet and actually show them I love them. I want to actually love them. 

I love that I’ve been given the opportunity to currently attend a church that takes care of their members so well. I love this training. And now I want to this next stage in our lives to be even more about sharing the Gospel with others. That’s terrifying. I’ve ready multiple places about how when sharing the Gospel is scary and we’re afraid of people’s responses it means we aren’t seeing God as big enough. I want to see God as big enough. Or am I not seeing others as loved by our Creator? 

I’m selfish. I don’t want to waste my time talking to people. I don’t want to put forth the effort to get to know people most of the time. I like to pick the people I think can offer me something or I find cooler than me to be friends. I’m a childish adult in a lot of ways. I’m pretty sure I’ve become more prideful and selfish and everything bad as I’ve gotten older. And I want God to break me of those things. Using community. Using those tough things I don’t want to do and that seem so far out of my comfort zone and strength. 

Leave a Reply

