Books I’ve Read 2014: A Year of Biblical Womanhood and The Holiness of God

Being back in school has definitely made reading for leisure harder. I don’t know how many books I read last year, but I don’t think it was many. Maybe 6? I decided for 2014, I want to read more, and actually keep a list of books I read (thank you Google Keep) so I can look back and see how much I accomplished as far as this goes. This is really for me to remember if I liked a book, and any impact it had on me, or what it was really about. It’s almost the end of March and here’s what I’ve read – I need to step it up:

1. A Year of Biblical Womanhood: How a Liberated Woman Found Herself Sitting on Her Roof, Covering Her Head, and Calling Her Husband “Master”
I DIED reading this. She’s hilarious. She’s thought provoking. She’s well studied. She doesn’t have all the same beliefs as me. It was non-fiction, but fully entertaining and light-hearted. I think Weston thought I was going crazy as I read it because I’d just bust out laughing. He also is probably glad I’m done reading it, because I read him way too many excerpts from it. It is definitely one of my favorite books I’ve ever read.

2. The Holiness of God
We were at Lifeway one evening buying way too many books before Christmas and saw that they had a deal where if you spend a certain amount you get one of their clearance or bargain books for free. Trying to search through all the Christian Romance novels to find something halfway decent proved worth the time because I found this classic. The only other Sproul I had read was his commentary on Romans, which was good, but I don’t think lets you get his real writing style. He’s amazing. And he’s surely a genius. This took me awhile to get through, even though it’s a small book. It helped my view of Holiness. To be honest, I don’t think I’ve ever spent much time mulling over God’s holiness and what that really means in light of Him and in light of us. I’m currently reading two more books, which I will hopefully finish soon. There’s probably 10 more books on our bookshelf waiting to be read.

Leave a Reply

