My grandma

My grandma had a stroke Sunday. The first thing that popped into my mind? It wasn’t “I hope she’s okay” or any fear. It was “The steadfast love of the Lord endures forever.” Psalm 136.

I got to go visit her. Yes, it’s scary and weird to see her in a hospital, pretty much helpless, but seeing her face light up when different people came in to see her made it a lot better. Her youngest brother, who is one of her best friends, came to visit with his wife. My grandparents’ best friends all came. They are loved.

It hurt to see everyone hurting. But it was amazing to see God work.

They went into her brain and removed half of the blood clot. She can now move her whole body, but she can’t speak. The doctor said she probably won’t be able to speak because the part of the clot they couldn’t remove is in that part of the brain. That’s weird to think of. My grandma not talking. Before, she never shut up. In a good way. She always was ready to talk to you. She always had a story or was ready to listen to you talk about whatever. I’m pretty sure all her friends I met today know more about me than I’d probably care for them to know.

I stood there holding her hand telling her about Weston and my wedding plans. I told her about my cake and how we are definitely using their wedding cake topper. Wes and I will be getting married on the 51st wedding anniversary. I told her she needs to get better so we can have happy hour together. Later on I asked her if I could show her a picture of my wedding dress. She turned her head towards me and her face LIT UP. You could see that she was trying to smile and she became so attentive.

You could tell when she would start laughing at what her friends and brother and sister-in-law would say. Her whole body would shake. Grandma’s brother, Rudy, is bossy. In a good brotherly way. They’re already planning  a trip down to the Riverwalk.

I’m so glad we moved to Texas 5 years ago. I’m glad my mom is able to be close to her mom and dad. I’m glad I’ve gotten to spend more time in the last 5 years with my grandparents than I probably have in the rest of my life. I don’t think I’ll ever take for granted my family again. I definitely have before. The whole time. I know I should’ve called my grandparents more and made more trips to see them. I’ve been far too occupied with myself .

Maybe my grandma won’t be able to speak. Maybe she’ll be writing on notepads, and on a computer/texts for the rest of her life. But she’s alive. So far so good. It’s these first few days after a stroke that make a huge difference. I believe in miracles. I believe in full recoveries when they aren’t believed to be there. Whatever the outcome with the coolest most amazing grandma ever. No really, she really is. She’s a bigger party animal than most college students. She has more energy spunk than I ever do. I apparently didn’t get that Carrasco gene…

 

“All of my life, in every season, you are still God. I have a reason to sing. I have a reason to worship.”

 

3 thoughts on “My grandma

  1. Sweet girl, thank you for sharing your grandma with all of us…what a blessing she is! Definitely praying for you and your sweet family – and you’re totally spot on: God’s love is SO steadfast…and goes on and on. What a beautiful thing to see that even in the midst of sadness and fear. I love you! Sending lots of hugs and prayers.

  2. Josh and I will definitely be praying for your grandma and for your whole family as you adjust to the changes in life this might bring and the patience to wait on the Lord’s timing for healing of her body and spirit. She sounds like a wonderful woman.

    Secondly, I’m sure the hospital’s speech pathologist has at least been notified of her situation, if she hasn’t met with your grandmother already. If speech truly isn’t going to be in the cards for her again, there are devices that adults can use to type into and use as their “voice.” My personal recommendation is the DynaVox Maestro. If you or your family ever have questions related to the speech, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

    Once again, all of our prayers and love!

Leave a Reply

