First 2 Days in Alaska and I’m ENGAGED!

Weston and I got to Alaska on Thursday around dinner time. I forgot how long that trip is. Our first flight was only 2.5-3 hours, the second flight is closer to 6. And we didn’t get to sit together. I had put our seats together back in June, but my guess is, since the reservations weren’t made together, that something happened where they moved our seats around. Oh well. We both sat next to really nice people. I met a lady who has been to all 49 states and this was her last state to come visit. I think that’s a pretty impressive feat.

We got to Alaska and my friend Lauren picked us up from the airport. We headed to Taco King (I’m still being made fun of for taking Weston there. I think it’s a good start to a trip…) We got it to go and headed to a lake near Darryl and Amanda’s house, Cheney Lake, and ate there then walked around the lake. Even that lake, in the middle of the city is just absolutely beautiful. The views any way you turn are gorgeous.

Yesterday (Friday), it was still sunny so after lunch we decided today was the day to go hike Flattop. It’s a popular local hiking trail up the mountain. Fun, but hard. I’m glad to know it was ranked as difficult because Weston and I were DYING. We’re really out of shape and that just slapped a big L on my forehead. I will be working out now because that was embarrassing. Darryl came a long with us, for what I thought at first, was just to come. Amanda had to stay home and babysit the children. (they have two of the most adorable kids, a 3 year old and a 1 year old). Darryl took charge of the camera and we started our trek up the mountain. Once we got to the top, we were enjoying the view and Weston asked to take my nalgene from me and put it back in his backpack. As he’s doing that he turns and gets on one knee, whips out a ring and asks me to marry him! Of course, I said YES! He’s the most amazing man in the world and I cannot wait to spend the rest of my life with him. 🙂

Darryl took LOTS AND LOTS AND LOTS of pictures. Whoop for Darryl tagging along. Granted he knew why he was coming. At the top of the mountain, a guy paraglided (I think that’s what it’s called?) off the top. That was awesome. We stayed up at the top for a little bit, looking around, taking pictures and just relaxing, then we started the trek down. Which takes just a fraction of the time. What a great gift at the top of that mountain.

On the other side of that peak was the peak of flattop. We're proud of ourselves.
One thought on “First 2 Days in Alaska and I’m ENGAGED!

  1. AHHHHHHHHH! I’m still freaking out. I’m super upset I won’t be in TX ’til Christmas, ’cause now I have to wait until then to give you your congratulations hug…and see that pretty piece of bling in real life. It’s gorgeous, lady. Wow…I’m super stoked for you two. I just love y’all so, so much. I am SO excited. And, your phone call last night definitely made yesterday bearable. Love you! And, I love that first picture of you two in this entry – I kind of want a copy of it so I can put it on my wall, lol…creepy?? 😉

Leave a Reply

