Not My Will But Your Will

If you’ve ever done the Experiencing God Bible Study, you have heard that the correct question is not “What is God’s will for my life, but what is God’s will?” Once you see where God is working, move to join Him. My question? How do I know what I’m supposed to do? What do I do when both my choices are Godly things? What I think God may be laying on my heart is being crowded with thoughts of doubt and feelings of fear. I’ve never been good at making decisions. Should I buy this or not? Should I go to this or not? Should I date this guy? Should I run in college? Which college do I go to? Do I join this organization? Do I run for an officer position? Do I do this Bible study? Do I voice my desire to move up in my job? What if I fail at something? What if it’s not what I’m supposed to do? And, I guess, a lot of those questions could be answered by going back to what is God’s will?

Through my current decision I am trying to make, I am learning how important prayer is. The Resurgence did a blog on “Pray Humbly Then Proceed Boldly”. We have to go to God with a humble Spirit. I’m not the most humble person. I can admit it. It’s one of my few bad qualities (okay many…). As I continue to read the Word and understand more of who I am and more of who God is, I am becoming a much more humble person. It’s hard not to when you look at who you are compared to God. Get yourself right with God in prayer and pray pray pray. LISTEN. I’m real bad at that one. God has stuff to say to you and me. It’s important stuff, too. I promise. Our God is not a God of confusion. He wants you to understand so you can then proceed BOLDLY. It’s kind of hard to proceed boldly when you are unsure of your decision. Proceeding boldly doesn’t necessarily go with knowing exactly what the outcome will be, but with knowing that God is GOOD and isn’t going to screw you over and leave you down for the count.

There’s a song that goes, “Not my will, but Your will” and that’s my prayer not only for myself, but for all of you as well. That we start desiring God’s will instead of our own. God has got it all figured out way better than we ever could.

Leave a Reply

