Lessons from the Mouths of Children

Sunday at church, Butch had the kids go up to two people in the audience, introduce themselves and say, “Jesus loves you.” I knew I was in a prime spot for this to happen to me, being the last on a middle row. As almost all the kids had left the sanctuary, one girl came up to me hesitantly, She introduced herself and then said “Jesus loves you.” I’m awkward and was semi-stressing out on what I say back, but I decided to just smile and say thank you (I still wonder if that was the “best” thing. That’s me… focus on the dumb little things). She turned around to leave and then turned back around and said, “And Jesus will never forget about you” and gave me a hug and walked off. You can always count on a little kid to be the one to hit you with such simple and great truth when you don’t expect it. And you KNOW they believe it. She was obviously excited about that fact, or else, why would she have shared it? I LOVE kids. J

When you love someone, you don’t forget about him or her. You think about them and their well being. Those people you love, they’re on your mind.

We serve a God who can remember everyone at the same time while focusing solely on you or me. A God who cares about us so much He still would have died for just one person.

Satan uses the idea that I’m not good enough for God’s love a lot. I’ve sinned too much of those really bad sins so I’m not really worth God’s time. I ruin my witness a little too often. God has my back though. BECAUSE He never forgets about me… because He loves me.

One thought on “Lessons from the Mouths of Children

  1. I love you, lady – and, I must say that you pretty much summed up the essence of me when you said this: “When you love someone, you don’t forget about him or her. You think about them and their well being. Those people you love, they’re on your mind.” Sometimes I wonder why it is so difficult for other people to understand that it is possible for someone to love you like what you just described, even if that person isn’t family or a life-long friend, etc., etc. So, thanks for putting that into words for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

