A Biblical Marriage

I’m not married. I’m not engaged. I am dating a wonderful man of God whom I never give the credit he deserves. My pastor’s sermon today was titled, “Want a Better Marriage? Try Unconditional Love and Respect”. It was the first sermon of two about Godly marriages. Today he stayed in Ephesians 5:21-33.

“Submitting to one another out of reverence for Christ. Wives, submit to your own husbands, as to the Lord. For the husband is the head of the wife even as Christ is the head of the church, his body, and is himself its Savior. Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit in everything to their husbands. Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her, that he might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word, so that he might present the church to himself in splendor, without spot of wrinkle or any such thing, that she might be holy and without blemish. In the same way husbands should love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself. For no one ever hated his own flesh, but nourishes and cherishes it, just as Christ does the church, because we are members of his body. “Therefore a man shall leave his father and mother and hold fast to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh.” This mystery is profound, and I am saying that it refers to Christ and the church. However, let each one of you love his wife as himself, and let the wife see that she respects her husband. (Emphasis added)

The question he started off with and ended with was this: What is it (would it be) like to be married to me?

Well, what would it be like? Since Weston and I have talked about marriage I was ready to really look at myself. Am I even ready to be a wife? I like to think I am. I like to think Weston is ready to be a husband. Honestly, Weston is. I know there are always places for us to get better, always. With a standard of Jesus, we’ve always got our work cut out for us.

Now me. I know, I am not married, but getting married is not going to magically fix me. So where can I start? That’s what my goal is. Start fixing now. Be a respectful supporter instead of a critical complainer. We are called to unconditional respect to our husbands. And here’s how women typically are disrespectful:

1)   Women are argumentative. Just learn to shut up. Men and women are different. Learn to think the way your husband thinks like he needs to learn how you think. I know I am incredibly argumentative and I usually start all of Weston and my fights. I want to prove I am smart and can hold my own. You can have a strong personality and still be in submission. Submission does not mean you will be walked on like a doormat. And a Godly man won’t treat you that way.

2)   Women nag. A man already knows what he does wrong; he does not need to hear it from you over and over again. This is something I am always being reminded of. We all want things fixed immediately and on our terms. Life doesn’t work this way. Give your man the benefit of the doubt and give him the time to fix things, but remember he cannot fix everything.

3)   Rebellion. If your husband tells you to do something or not do something, if you do the opposite you are in rebellion to your husband and that’s wrong.

So, what would it be like to be married to you?

Here’s the link to the sermon

One thought on “A Biblical Marriage

Leave a Reply

