The point is not just to get by…

I’ve learned a lot recently. Reconciliation. Anger. Forgiveness. I’m still learning, but the process has truly begun. The whole of October has been continual lessons on these things. True forgiveness is an amazing feeling and an amazing action that I know I could only have done with God’s help.
Within one of those forgiveness conversations, one of the people made a statement about if there was love really there, things would not have happened. That statement made me think about a lot. And I’m now at the point where I am questioning myself, “Do I love the person more than I love the action?” More than I love the thing that is selfish. A verse I was living by a lot for a while was, “But the point was not just to get by. We want to live well, but our foremost efforts should be to help others live well.” – 1 Corinthians 10:24. When did that verse stop being a way I was living? Somewhere during this semester it got lost in the hustle and bustle of the day to day grind of school and work and church.
It needs to get back in focus. I need to refocus my life.
Live by love.
Live by forgiveness
Live by peacemaking
Live by helping OTHERS live well.

Leave a Reply

