He gives and takes away. God will get the glory and praise.

http://www.mysanantonio.com/military/Local_Marine_killed_in_Afghanistan.html

A classmate of mine from my Senior year, Travis Babine, was killed in action today while serving in Afghanistan. He joined the marines right after graduation and went over to Iraq around Christmas time. We weren’t close by any means. We had nothing in common. He was what I would call a bit nerdy. Come to think of it, he’d probably be friends with my boyfriend now. Into computer games and all that stuff. Just, it was high school, I was too cool for the computer game kids. (Even for a class of 27). But he was such a NICE guy. And insanely patriotic.

My heart breaks for his parents. For his sister. For his best friend Michael. Maybe I’m saying too much, thinking I know him too well, but from how he always was, I think dying serving his country is how he would’ve liked it. I’m sure he would have liked to be alive instead of dying, but if he had to die… this would be the way. He was just THAT guy. Excited to fight. Ready to serve.

God gives and takes away. God has a plan we can’t understand just yet. God will be glorified in all things.

Please be praying for Travis’s family and friends.

Thanks.

3 thoughts on “He gives and takes away. God will get the glory and praise.

  1. I was a teacher of Travis’s while he was in middle school. Travis was and still is a true insiration of how a young man should live. Yes, he loved his country and God with all his being. I look forward to the day when I get to see Travis in Heaven and tell him”Thanks!” God bless you Travis Babine!

  2. Hi Makenzie,

    When I saw your blog several days ago, I admit I had to do some checking to place you as one of Travis’ classmates. Marshall filled me in right away and I remembered when you had arrived during senior year. You say you didn’t know Travis all that much, but you have captured him well in your comments. Thank you for your insight, you care, and your prayers.

    “God gives and takes away. God has a plan we can’t understand just yet. God will be glorified in all things.” So true.

    Alice Babine
    Travis’ mom

  3. Makenzie,

    I never got to know you when Travis was in school. But thanks for remebering him.

    God bless and keep you.

    Bill Badger
    Travis’ dad

Leave a Reply

