Love is Patient, Love is Kind…. Oh Love.

Love never gives up.
Love cares more for others than for self.
Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have.
Love doesn’t strut,
Doesn’t have a swelled head,
Doesn’t force itself on others,
Isn’t always “me first,”
Doesn’t fly off the handle,
Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others,
Doesn’t revel when others grovel,
Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth,
Puts up with anything,
Trusts God always,
Always looks for the best,
Never looks back,
But keeps going to the end.

Love is patient
Love is kind
And is not jealous
Love does not brag
And is not arrogant
Does not act unbecomingly
It does not seek it’s own
Is not provoked
Does not take into account a wrong suffered
But rejoices with the truth
Bears all things
Believes all things
Hopes all things
Endures all things

How often do we read that passage? 1 Corinthians 13. Only every wedding, only every time anyone talks about love, right? The one on top is The Message version, the one on the bottom is the NASB. I love the NASB, don’t get me wrong, but reading the message version, kind of opened my eyes. “Me first”, “cares for others more than self” It defines the words used in NASB. What is kindness? What is patience? What is jealousy? What is acting unbecomingly? What is taking account of others wrongs? My favorite part of this passage?
“Love rejoices with the truth, bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.” “Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth, puts up with anything, trusts God always, always looks for the best, never looks back, but keeps going to the end.”
I’m finally understanding THAT love. This true, legit, God love. Obviously, my love for others is conditional, unlike God’s, but when I love—it’s supposed to be this love. Recently, I’ve been going through my head then I tell people I love them. The amount of people I tell that to has decreased drastically. Is my life these things? Am I patient with them, am I kind to them, do I become jealous? Am I arrogant? Etc. Do I PUT UP WITH ANYTHING? Do I ALWAYS trust God? Do I always look for the best and always endure? Those are some high standards—but I think God makes them that way so we will need Him to meet them. If I say I love someone and don’t show this, I’m lying. I’m not loving them. So now, love is this huge four letter word.

The part of love I’m really learning? “Trusts God always, puts up with anything, love cares for others more than for self.” What I’ve realized in the past 7 months is that boyfriends put the trials on thick.  Trusting God through the thick and thin of arguments and things that can hurt my relationship with my boyfriend, my best friend, realizing that nothing I can do in my strength can do anything at all. And the only way to show I love him, is through this love. Trust… I don’t trust easily. And handing things to God and being rid of the worry myself is tough! But, when you trust in the Lord—that’s when things happen. That’s when God starts answering prayers and showing just why you should always trust Him.

Leave a Reply

